Lixin Zhang

Going straight to number one on the RNZ Classical Charts on its first week of release, the Rattle debut of Lixin Zhang highlights the extraordinary talent of a remarkable young New Zealand musician.

Lixin began piano lessons at the age of 4 with Neville Baird and later studied with Michael Endres and Richard Mapp. He was awarded the Irene Lassen Exhibition award from the Royal Schools of Music for his first diploma exam, passed his LRSM diploma with a high distinction, and attained a fellowship diploma certificate from the Trinity College of London.

Compositions by Robert Schumann, Franz Liszt, Carl Maria von Weber, Mikhail Glinka, Frederic Chopin, Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel, and New Zealand composer Edwin Carr.

Produced by Kenneth Young
Engineered by Steve Garden
Sponsored by Jack C. Richards

Released: 25 June 2018
Catalogue: RAT-D084