A regular sideman on numerous Rattle releases, Ron Samsom's debut as band leader is a no-holds-barred, pumping homage to 70's jazz funk.

Ron Samsom's Ace Tone bristles with energy and attitude jazz, evident not only in the forward-leaning thrust of the performances and depth of generic understanding, rigour, and at times wit of the compositions, but also gritty, full-frontal muscularity of the recording.

Ron Samsom (drums),
Cameron McArthur (bass),
Roger Manins (tenor saxophone),
Grant Winterburn (Hammond organ, Wurlitzer electric piano, acoustic piano)

Produced by Ron Samsom, Roger Manins, Cameron McArthur and Grant Winterburn
Engineered and mixed by Jordan Stone
Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper
Design by UnkleFranc
Printing by Studio Q

All compositions © Ron Samsom 2015

Released: 01 July 2015
Catalogue: RAT-J-1027