Natalia Mann

Natalia Mann makes her Rattle debut with Pasif.Ist, her first album under her own name. The album is about migration, the metropolis, and the sacred spaces of culture and time. Natalia describes her music as ‘environmental’, music that comes from (and resonates in harmony with) the environment in which it was made. The compositions were written in response to living and working as a musician in Istanbul (Turkey) for the last six or seven years, personal experiences that have been filtered through her unique artistic perspective.

Natalia Mann (harp)
Izzet Kızıl (percussions & drums)
Sercan Halili (classic kemençe, alto kemençe)
Abdullah Shakar (fretless & electric bass)
Dine Doneff (double bass)
Plus special guests:
Richard Nunns (taonga puoro on Greenstones)
Lucien Johnson (soprano & tenor saxophone on Üç Adım)
Riki Gooch (percussion on Gul Cayı, Sunshine Sister, Üç Adım)
Serdar Pazarcıoglu (violin on Butterfly Effect)
Deniz Gungur (aqua on Butterfly Effect)
Naomi Jean O’Sullivan (co-writer, gongs on Time)

All compositions by Natalia Mann © 2011, except Sunshine Sister & Üç Adım (Mann/Kızıl), 4.55 air (Mann/Doneff/Kızıl), and Time (Mann/O'Sullivan)

Recorded by Oguz Sehiraltı at S.e.s. Studio, Istanbul,
and Ergin Özler, Gunsel Isık Yılmaz, and Deney Evi Studio, Istanbul

Additional recording by
Riki Gooch (Wellington);
Bob Bickerton (Nelson, New Zealand);
Deniz Gungor (Istanbul); and Ömer Sabırsız (Turkey)

Mixed by Smadj at Babajim Istanbul Studios, assisted by Berk Teker, Zeynep Tunay, and Gunsel Isık Yılmaz

Mastered by Pieter Snapper at Babajim Istanbul Mastering
Cover Photography by Fotini Potamia
Design by UnkleFranc

Released: 21 November 2011
Catalogue: RAT-D029