The Green Hour

The Jac


The opening track of this fine album, Sons of Thunder, deservedly won the inaugural ‘Jazz Composer of the Year’ award for composer Callum Allardice. Callum won the same award the following year for Deep Thought off the 2018 Antipodes release, Good Winter. Sons of Thunder is one of seven stunning original new works on this album, beautifully recorded by Tom O’Connor and expertly performed by this very strong Wellington ensemble.

Lex French (trumpet), Jake Baxendale (alto saxophone), Chris Buckland (tenor saxophone), Matthew Allison (trombone), Daniel Millward (piano), Callum Allardice (guitar), Nick Tipping (bass), Shaun Anderson (drums)

Produced by The Jac and Michael Bell, recorded by Thom O’Connor and Michael Bell at Orange Studio, Christchurch, mixed by Steve Garden and The Jac, designed by UnkleFranc, photography by Andrew Leontarou, printed by Studio Q

This album was made possible with funding from Creative New Zealand, and support from Victoria University of Wellington. All compositions © The Jac 2014.

Released: 14 October 2015
Catalogue: RAT-J-1029