This self-penned set of very fine compositions marks the debut Rattle release of Auckland guitar trio, Samsom Nacey Haines.

Formed in 2008, this intimate trio features three of New Zealand’s premiere musicians. Playing original material with influences from swing and Latin to contemporary jazz, the stylish music of Samsom Nacey Haines is a pleasure to listen to.

Ron Samsom (drums)
Dixon Nacey (guitar)
Kevin Haines (bass)
Featuring contributions from Chris Melville (vocals), Kevin Field (piano), Joel Haines (guitar), Neville Grenfell (flugelhorn), Roger Manins (tenor saxophone)

Produced by Steve Garden, Ron Samsom, Dixon Nacey and Kevin Haines
Engineered by Steve Garden
Photograph by Kevin Haines
Designed by UnkleFranc
Printed by Studio Q

Released: 23 March 2011
Catalogue: RAT-J-1004

Ron SAMSOM (drums)

Ron is an active performer, composer, researcher, and educator in the area of improvised music, and his work features on many local and international recordings. Ron is highly regarded in musical communities here and abroad, and has many collaborations and projects on the go. 

Dixon NACEY (guitar)

Dixon has worked as a professional musician for over 20 years, a career that has seen him perform with some of New Zealand’s top jazz & pop musicians as a sideman, band leader, and musical director. He is also an avid and enthusiastic educator, with a reputation as a gifted and popular guitar teacher.

Kevin HAINES (bass)

Kevin is one of NZ’s most respected jazz bassists. He has been a prominent figure in the New Zealand jazz scene for many years and is still very much in demand as one of the country's best musicians. A veteran of the NZ music industry, Kevin has been worked with some of the top names in jazz.